I peed on it

Today

As I left to my Dr’s office to get my results and get the dumb catheter removed, Little A was in all excitement. This is what he told us this morning, I am quoting.. ”Amma is going to pee-pee doctor, she will lie down on the paper, the doctor will give her mannu (medicine), he will remover her pee-pee bag and put it in the trash, amma will come back home and carry me”. That long sentence made my day!

He also reminded me to ask my doctor if I could carry him. Guess he missed me way more than he could tell.

We left, the whole waiting was hard, but I guess worth it. I got my results. It was a low grade, low stage transitional cell carcinoma. Meaning, it is the best possible outcome. It is a malignant tumor, yet a very superficial one. They have removed it all and I don’t need any follow up chemo. I would need a cystoscopy every three month for two years, then every six months etc.  Chances of recurrence do exist, but then it would be the same stage, grade etc. WHEW!

In short, as of today I feel like I got my life back.

I peed on it (Waiting on that t-shirt from A)

23 Comments

  1. Comfy said,

    June 25, 2011 at 12:24 am

    Oh God! I can’t imagine the stress all of you must have been under. And how scared you must be. I am so glad everything is fine. Sending lots of prayers your way.

    • avymom said,

      June 25, 2011 at 6:56 pm

      Thanks, last month was terrible. Now I can see everything in a better light!

  2. June 25, 2011 at 2:43 am

    :( I cannot begin to imagine what you went through. I read all these posts in utter disbelief. Why doesn’t the mind ever accept that something like this can happen to someone we know!

    But, you have been brave. Avy has been a sweetheart like always. Hugs and prayers and lots of positive energy your way.

    Hats off to you lady!

    • avymom said,

      June 25, 2011 at 6:58 pm

      Even as I lay there getting the news I could not beleive it is even remotely possible for me to get it. I thought he was kidding!! Yet you somehow summon the deeper strength you never knew existed to fight all this.

  3. smiths said,

    June 25, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    anu…..you are in my prayers always……i am sohappy everything is normal now

    take care…may be you need a trip to london!!

    • avymom said,

      June 25, 2011 at 6:59 pm

      Thanks so much. Should take you up on that offer!

  4. meghnadilip said,

    June 26, 2011 at 11:07 pm

    I am sorry you had to go through all this. It seems extremely stressful However, I am so glad you are doing as best as can be now! Take care!!

  5. whinymom said,

    June 27, 2011 at 3:35 am

    Oh My God… I really don’t have any word to express….I really hope you recover soon… Loads of hugs!

  6. DI said,

    June 27, 2011 at 6:51 am

    Oh my God! That would have been so scared :( I am glad all is well now! Wishes for you to get perfectly alright real soon :)

  7. Titaxy said,

    June 27, 2011 at 11:38 am

    I cant imagine how hard it must be going through something like this. Hugs. Loads of hugs, and prayers your way. Take care.

    • avymom said,

      July 29, 2011 at 4:21 pm

      Sorry for the late reply, Thanks for the lovely thoughts

  8. June 27, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    I still in disbelief, it must have been so hard for you and family, take care and we are here in case you need any help. We can always send the virtual hugs..Take care and get well real soon..

    • avymom said,

      July 29, 2011 at 4:21 pm

      Thanks, all your kind words give me immense strength. Sorry for the late response.

  9. Telugumom said,

    June 28, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    OMG! I read all your posts about your illness today and had tears in my eyes. Sorry that you had to go through all of this. But, I am glad that everything is fine now.

    Hugs to you and sweet little Avy. Poor thing it must have been really hard on him.

    Take care and get well soon.

    • avymom said,

      July 29, 2011 at 4:22 pm

      Avy took it hard but he was brave too, I am glad it is over. Sorry for the late response.

  10. Mahalaxmi said,

    July 4, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    Anu, God is great! You have been very brave through all this, and I pray to God that you and all in your family never have to face this again. All the best for your complete recovery, all our prayers are with you always. Take care.

  11. Tharani said,

    July 13, 2011 at 4:11 am

    I just read your post,”Life changer” and it made me feel hard. I’m happy that you are well now. Hope you will be out of all treatments soon. Kudos to your courage..

  12. August 1, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    I’m really late, but wanted to tell you that you are one brave woman! Here’s to your courage and a big thanks to the powers above!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 339 other followers

