Time moves on…

Time flies. It is going to be 4 weeks since my surgery. I have my good days and back. This is the first full week am at work and I feel good. Energy is slowly creeping back up, minor hiccups now and then, but mostly good.

Been a while since I did a post on the little one. He is doing great. He has enjoyed immensely the unexpected visit of grandma, the plenty of pool visits and having mommy home more. Sometimes he acts with the most maturity when it comes to my health and sometimes he is just a baby, and I do prefer the baby.

He has been crossing his own milestones in all this while. He is WRITING. He can write most of the letters and has most trouble with G and S. He spends most of his time asking us to spell words and he would write. What a joy to watch!!! Of course he now can spell his own name, write Amma and Appa with no help and he is mighty proud of that.

We also had to take him for his blood work this past Saturday. I did this long post last year about our experience (here). This year was a lot different. All through the drive he was asking where we were goin and since I did not want to worry him, I was buying time saying we are going to a building etc. Then his dad told him that we were going to the hospital. He thought for a while and then asked “For who are we going?”. The intelligence of kids!!

I then explained it was for him, to check on his allergies. He was curious he was going to lie down on the white paper. He was playing around till we finished the registration and then we went back to the lab. He did okay when she but the rubber band on his little arm, and she poked him!!! He was shocked and started crying, yet he never moved his arm. They had to take 3 full vials of blood and it was painful to watch.

He got a Dora band aid, plenty of Spiderman stickers and a tight hug from us. He immediately stopped crying and wanted to know why she did that. Most of the weekend was spent on analyzing why she did it to him. A conversation in particular showed me a peak into his little world and little mind. I was explaining to him on how we have to get the results from his blood work and then see his doctor, and I mentioned..

Me: “Avy they took blood because they can see it and tell you about your allergies. We can then go to your doctor”

Avy: “No I do not want to go to the doctor”

Me: “Avy only if we go, can we ask her, if you can have milk and eggs”

Avy: “We will ask her , Can Avy have milk and eggs? And she will say YESSSSSS”

I had no words for a while and I just hugged him. I wish things were that simple, I wish they would say he can do it. For the past few weeks he has been saddened that he cannot just have what everyone is having. He knows he gets his own stuff, his own version of EVERYTHING, but it is not enough. I wish he did not have to do so much growing up at such a little age.

As I often say he is a big man in a little boy. Circumstances for him have always been that he has to face things above his age. Maybe that is why developmentally he is advanced for his age. My feelings are in a paradox now, I feel proud that he is writing and he is not even three years old, that he can grasp concepts so quickly, that he can talks for hours but I am also sad, he HAS to grasp concepts above his age, he has to protect himself from wrong foods that this little age and that he has to feel different.

We get our blood work results and see the doctors next week. Hoping for good news, the little one deserves a break.

 

8 Comments

  1. July 14, 2011 at 6:51 pm

    Aww. He sure will hear an ‘Yess!’ from the docs once the report is out. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for the little fellow.

    Just read up the older posts and regretting not coming here to convey my good wishes earlier. However, all is well that ends well. Just too glad that the tumor was low grade malignant.

    Big {{Hugs}} of relief to you. Stay happy :)

    • avymom said,

      July 14, 2011 at 7:38 pm

      Welcome and thanks a lot. All you guys wishes and thoughts help me immensely to get through it all!!

  2. Lakshmi Subramanian said,

    July 16, 2011 at 11:38 am

    Of course Avy will be brilliant – you and jit are such brainy children :)

  3. July 18, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    Avy started writing, thats one big milestone for his age. Blood test is so scary especially for children, I had to take my daughter for blood test when she was around 9months and she stopped eating solids for almost 2.5 months, I hope Avy’s allergy goes and he can eat all food. Waiting for the blood report. Will remember you both in my prayers. You both are way too matured..

    • avymom said,

      July 22, 2011 at 3:34 pm

      Thanks for your kind words, and I think happy thoughts and well wishes from all is what is guiding us!!! I hope your little girl is doing good. We did bloodwork for him when he was 9 months, then, once every year

  4. whinymom said,

    July 19, 2011 at 12:43 am

    Wow, he’s writing! Touchwood! I hope all turns out well at the doctors visit.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 339 other followers

