To the rock in my life!

My husband Ajit. Without him I cannot possibly do everything I do. He has been such a support and inspiration for me to be who I am. As everyone knows, many times we lose some individuality when we get married, and a lot more when we have a kid. However with me, I feel more empowered and independent than I ever felt. My whole way of thinking , attitudes, likes and dislikes have changed due to the constant push from this guy!

I am a very picky person when it comes to anything. I rarely am open to trying new things. Ajit has slowly but surely chipped into this. I have even tried mor kuzhambu, aviyal and lemon rice, things I refused to try before I got married. I am a planner, I need to know when everything is going to happen…not really a go with the flow kind of person. Ajit is the total opposite. My whole zen attitude in life to be happy in every situation is due to him. He encourages the silly kid in me. I can laugh at the drop of a hat even at mildly funny things, as Ajit asked me once…”why is it that any sitcom you laugh so much gets cancelled?”. LOL. I think people who know me will agree, my standard for humor isn’t too high.:)(Ajit: this says nothing about your humor, really!!!)

The journey of becoming a mom has been made so pleasant by him, he took care me during the hard first trimester, cooking multiple items for dinner and lunch in case I may refuse something. He did the whole classes, massages, the early am diaper changes….. Even at that point I had not realized on what vital role he was going to play in facing the daily challenges caused by having an allergic little one.

Just like every other mom, somewhere along the way I started to lose myself. Avyu was the obsession in my mind, failing to realize that I need to be taken care of too. Ajit never forgot that. He would shop everywhere in trying to find things I can eat, substitutes for things I love but cannot have. Over the past year he has provided me with cheese free, but at the same time yummy pizza, cheese substitutes made from pea protein (as I cannot have soy either), jalapeno chips without milk (can you believe, milk is everywhere!!!), homemade popcorn (as I cannot have the store brought one, I don’t think anyone should either, homemade is sooooo good), and tons and tons of chocolates (he spent a lot of time going through the shelves reading ingredients). All of this without me ever asking. He often reminds me that I cannot lose myself and that he is there to take care of me if I ever start to again.

He is my rock, my everything and the only way any of what I do (work, home, kid, blog, cook ) is possible is because I have right next to me taking care of me. To my dear hubby…

7 Comments

  1. Sampoorna Satheesha said,

    April 23, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    Yes, this is what I do at work – check email updates for blogs and such, and then be the first to comment. Don’t worry, I’ll still cure cancer. As for Avy’s meds, I’m motivating my immunologist-y friends to stop watching House M.D. for inspiration and get cracking. Scientists I tell you!!!

    After that fine digression I would like to get to my point – a wonderful tribute. Such a loving account of a husband’s prefection deserves some nostalgia, so here it is and not in any chronological order. I remember the day you first told me that Ajit (who will henceforth be referred to only as Athimber) would become family (those were your exact words by the way) and I was so happy for you. And then you went and told me he was an NPS-ite (a title that both Athimber and I wear with a quiet reluctant grace), but I forgave him. I also remember the first time I saw you two together and I knew instantly that this was to stay and after the glorious wedding there was not a shadow of a doubt that he was made mould-perfect to fit into our little loony bunch. His abilities as a husband and as a father are unsurpassed. Although my interactions with him have been limited (mainly due to logistics) he has made a lasting impression on this machini. Kudos on the wonderful partnership.

    • avymom said,

      April 23, 2010 at 4:56 pm

      LOL sweety your blogging about my blog! I think it takes a kind of courage to fit into our family…like santhu calls is “looseu” family. Danku!

  2. parisal said,

    April 23, 2010 at 4:43 pm

    Just read through the blog and comments .. No wonder you said you kept receiving emails that needed to be approved 🙂

    The blog totally deserves it. Extremely well written and I bet just as useful to others with similar needs.

    Very proud of you Anu!!

    Love,
    Divya

    • avymom said,

      April 23, 2010 at 4:57 pm

      thanks di! I am still figuring out how to do and change stuff 🙂

  3. Lakshmi said,

    April 23, 2010 at 11:24 pm

    Very sweet diii!!! 🙂 Keep blogging….

  4. venkatesan said,

    April 24, 2010 at 5:38 am

    Anu,

    To quote Ajit – This is completely grass itching.

    Love

    Venkatesan

  5. Sailaja said,

    April 24, 2010 at 11:16 am

    Wow Anu!!! That was real sweet and touching!!! No words to say…I loved it…and kudos to Ajith and ur love for each other…

    Shail


Leave a Reply

