One of those days!

Every once in a while I am too tired to cook or eat or clean (am sure everyone has one such day)! Yesterday was one of those days!! All I wanted to do was sleep. Ajit and my dad decided they were going to have Pizza and that left me and Avy. The little monster had his usual ‘Paruppu Sadam’ (rice and lentil), did a ‘Mannana” (banana) dance and gobbled up a whole banana.  So with just me left, I was leaning towards my usual Maggi (which I love btw, with no vegetables…Yes Ajit, no matter what you say, it is AWESOME without any veggies in it!! ).  But Ajit offered to make me some Quinoa Upma.  Turned out to be pretty awesome. Here is his recipe:

Quinoa grains: (You will find it at all grocery stores these days) 1 cup

Mustard seeds: 1/2 tsp

Cumin (Jeeragam) seeds; 1/2 tsp

Green chilies 2 or 3

Urad dal and channa dal- 1/2 tsp each

Salt

Onion-1/2

Capsicum 1/2

Oil- 2 Tbsp

Add oil in a pan and when it is hot, add the mustard seeds and wait till it sputters. Add the green chillies and cumin seed and let it saute for 2-3 minutes.

Now add the cut, onion, capsicum, and any other veggies your tummy wants and saute it till the onion changes color.

Now add 1 and half cup of water, little salt and let the water come to a boil. Then add the Quinoa grains and let it cook. Occasional stirring helps. It will take anywhere from 12-15 minutes to cook fully.

Garnish with some Cilantro and you are done!!!

After I was served this on a platter, as I refused to move from the couch, Avy comes running to me since I have his favorite food with me. Mind it, his dinner was over. He had few spoonfuls and ran away happily to continue drawing…..while I was left to enjoy the lovely dinner!

I think this is a wonderful dish for those watching their weight as it is powerfully packed with protein and is very pleasant to the palate. Kids love it, the grain has a very nice texture that appeals to them:)

4 Comments

  1. Aparna said,

    May 2, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    I just read the previous blog and commented about the quinoa upma and here u have the recipe!! Will definitely do it now that its tried and tested 🙂 thanks

    • avymom said,

      May 3, 2010 at 1:01 pm

      Turned out really good, going to make amma and appa try it too!

  2. Bhargavi Venkatesh said,

    May 2, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    In your photos i have seen photos of thati, Manchurian etc.., Is it possible to post recipes of that

    • avymom said,

      May 3, 2010 at 1:03 pm

      Keep checking , will post some of the old ones soon.


Leave a Reply

