The Batura weekend ;)

Well Well, last weekend was Mother’s day weekend. After that post for my mom, this is a post about my weekend. It started out with a bang on friday evening with Avy in a sooper dooper cute mood. I was making tea in the kitchen, I could hear his dad and grandparents asking him to take the card he made for me at his daycare to me. Few second later I hear the cute little foot stomps approaching me, and when he entered the kitchen it was the cutest sight. He has this big butterfly he had fingerprinted in bright pink with I love you, mommy written on it. It also had another cute tear in the corner that my little one made himself :p. I was floored at that moment and felt it was the best weekend ever before it started.:)

Saturday was brunch time, we took Ajit’s parents who are visiting to the Blacksburg farmer market and to one our favorite local restaurants “Gillies”. It has become a new favorite since it is a vegan restaurant and I can take Avyu there without worrying if he would get anything to eat. After a long long wait, when we finally got in we were ravenous. While waiting for the food, Avyu discovered a new snack all my himself. He was eating his saltine crackers and there was those small jelly/jam packets on the table, he promptly asked for one. Like always, I read the ingredients twice had his dad read them again and it was okay to give him. He instantly started using his cracker as a spoon and ate it all, jelly and cracker :). That was followed by an order of a super flavored potato dish, just like hashbrowns. He loves those too. The lunch ended with Avyu fighting me for my orange juice, all in all was a great time well spent.

Now coming to the tile of my blog, I have been going on and on about eating Channa Batura. Online recipe search revealed that almost 90% of the recipes call for use of curd, which made it a bummer, as one more dish I have to cross of my list when I eat outside. So I decided to make it at home. I found some recipes using boiled potatoes, a couple of them. So with all my research and a penchant for risk taking, I present to you my version of Channa Batura. Must say in the spirit of full disclosure, the Batura came out super great, soft, tasty, the channa was good, tasted very well, I just wish i had pressure cooked em a little bit longer 🙂

So enjoy!!

Items needed for Batura: (Note: The dough needs to sit for at least 5-6 hours for best results)

All purpose flour (Maida): 3 cups

Potatoes: Small ones 2 (boiled and peeled)

Baking soda: 1 tsp

Oil- 2 Tbsp

Salt to taste- I would say about 3/4 to 1 tsp.

Mix all the ingredients in a large bowl,smash the boiled potatoes and add about 4 Tbsp of hot water and just spread it around and start kneading. Add water little by little and knead the dough till is becomes soft. Pointer: At one stage the dough will be a little sticky, like as though there is too much water, but do NOT add more flour, just keeps kneading it will become soft. I takes about 20-25 of kneading to achieve the right consistency. It will be smooth and glossy.

Now take a wet cloth, or I use wet tissue to wrap it around the dough and let it sit in an air tight container for about 5-6 hours.

When it is time to make the Batura, start the oil in a frying pan. Then take the dough out and knead it once more on the counter for about 5 mins and make it into medium size balls. Use more flour to help in flattening them out (like a tortilla). It is best to make one by one and fry them immediately to avoid exposure to moisture.  Once you put the dough in the oil, just pat them out with the spoon this will help achieving the desired results.

It was my husband and mother in law who made the best ones, I kneaded the dough and they fried it. So as you can imagine my husband claims full bragging rights for the awesome ones in the picture above :):p.

Now onto the chick pea curry…

Items needed:

Chick peas soaked overnight, or at least for 6 hours, or you can used the canned version. If can use 3 cans, if fresh about the same quantity. Pressure cook them for about 4 whistles to get to a soft texture.

For the sauce base, saute the following items for about 8 minutes and grind to a thick paste:

Ginger: 2 inch piece

Garlic- about 3 pods

Tomato- 2 small ones

Onion- 1 medium onion

Now add about 2 Tbsp of oil, and add the following flavors:

Cinnamon stick- 1 inch stick

Cardamom- 3 pods

Cloves- 4

Bayleaf- 1

Cumin- about a teaspoon

Once these saute for few minutes, add the paste and a ½ cup water. Now add the following:

Turmeric powder: 1 tsp

Coriander powder-1.5 tsp

Cumin powder-1.5 tsp

Chilli powder- 2 tsp

Channa masala powder- 2 tsp

Chaat masala- 2 tsp

Salt to taste

I then leave it on low heat to boil for about 10 minutes. I now add the boiled chickpea to the boiling mixture and leave the lid close and let it simmer for another 10-15 minutes.

I then check to see if the taste is what I want, feel free to change-up the proportion to what you would like. Finally I add a ½ tsp of sugar, this will bring in and blend the mixture.

I garnish with some Cilantro and keep the lid closed till it is ready to be served.

Finally as it goes on the plates I squeeze some lemon juice for that lovely zest.

Whew!! That took longer to write than actually do!  This was followed by a nice sunday at home doing what I enjoy best…spending time with family.

P.s Avyu liked the “pullllii”(poori)!!!

4 Comments

  1. Nive said,

    May 12, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    Hey Anu,

    Not sure if you can have this but here is my quicker sans yogurt bhatura recipe-
    1 packet Betty Crocker Pizza Crust mix
    1 cup whole wheat
    1 cup warm water
    Knead together into soft dough just like you mentioned and start rolling them out in 10 minutes. Comes super soft, tasty and easy to roll as perfect circles.

  2. avymom said,

    May 12, 2010 at 1:24 pm

    Nice! My sister in law mentioned this too. I have to check out the Betty Crocker mix and see. Will save a lot of time, and guess I can make it more often for Avyu!

  3. Divya said,

    May 12, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    Awesome looking Baturas di!! 🙂
    And a belated very very Happy Mother’s day! I am sure you are going to treasure this first card forever!

  4. August 2, 2010 at 9:04 am

    […] the channa: https://avymom.wordpress.com/2010/05/12/the-batura-weekend/. You could skip the whole grinding part and just  saute the items and leave it like a chunky […]


Leave a Reply

