Chocolate and Orange…YUMMMMM

 

Yesterday was the 39th wedding Anniversary for my in-law’s. I am a sucker for such days!! 🙂 I instantly feel very happy at weddings or during anniversaries etc. It is such a wonderful day to commemorate what is one of the most important days in your lives. So when Ajit and I started to discuss what to do, since it was a weekday there was a brief discussion of a store-bought cake as the evenings are always a gamble with the little one. But then I figured, what fun is it for grandparents to cut cake and eat it when their one obsession in life right now does not get to have a piece.

I then remembered this recipe I had been wanting to try out. I don’t know about other but I LOVEEE a good chocolate and orange combination. Thanks to Susan, I tried this recipe and it came out great. Here is the original recipe http://blog.fatfreevegan.com/2007/12/chocolate-orange-cake.html, but I tweaked it to suit to my situation and we got a wonderful, moist delicacy. Here is how you venture out…

Unbleached white flour (maida): 1.5 cups

Sugar: 1 cup

Cocoa: 1/4-1/2 cup depending on how much chocolate you like 🙂

Salt: 1/2 tsp

Baking powder: 1 tsp

Oil: 1/2 cup

Vinegar: 1 Tbsp

Water: 1/2 cup

Orange juice: 1/2 cup

Orange zest or peel: About 1 Tbsp. You can grate orange just the skin on a grater and collect this.

You add some cinnamon and vanilla extract if you please. Avy is little sensitive to both.

Mix all the dry ingredients first and then add the liquid and beat it, until smooth. I used a handheld electric beater for about a minute.

Grease a 9×9 inch pan and pour the liquid in it. Set the oven at 350 and bake for about 30 minutes. Once done, insert a fork and make sure nothing sticks to it, keep it to cool. It will take about an hour to cool fully. (Last night I was in a rush, so I took it off before it fully cooled and it was not as pleasant to clean up ;)).

Now for the icing, I did only the orange icing yesterday. also do the icing just before you are ready to serve:

1/4 cup powdered sugar (confectioners sugar)

Some vanilla extract and little cinnamon if you please.

1 tsp orange juice.

Add the liquid slowly and start beating the mixture, you can see it all blend in. I used a little too much liquid last night, so the icing did not show nicely, though it tasted great. The mixture should be thick yet at a consistency in which you can drizzle it over the cake. Dress up the cake and serve. At the end I added a little cocoa to my icing and poured over the cake, as you can see in the picture. Cannot have enough chocolate!!

It was job well done, everyone enjoyed the cake. Avy successfully mushed the cake even before my in-laws had a chance to cut it, but it was a wonderful sight. It made me think that afterall his birthdays will not be so bad, I can always bake a huge cake for him and my mind went into overdrive to thinking what all I can with a birthday cake….Mommy brain… :):)…. Here is Avy enjoying the cake…

2 Comments

  1. antha said,

    May 26, 2010 at 8:41 am

    Cake work I can understand… but so much artwork??

  2. avymom said,

    May 27, 2010 at 8:25 am

    ellam oru show dhaan


Leave a Reply

