To dearest Daddy!

Dear Appa,

Happy Father’s Day. I choose today to celebrate you. I do not want to get involved in this big debate on whether, all these days are just a Greeting card company sadhi (plot), but I like the idea of this day. A day to thank and cherish the most influential man in my life.

I have learned so much from you, your patience, your optimism, your always happy nature I think I got it all from you 🙂 You have been such an influence on my life. I think we share a special bond, I think a lot of father daughters do, but I do think ours is extra special:)

Trip down memory lane just reminds me, of all the fun we had, how you were THE person in the family everyone wanted to be around, how you never said no to anything we wanted, all the road trips, all the nicknames, all the teasing we used to do to amma and how no matter what anyone did you were always there to help.

I learned how to be immensely strong form you. After your ’95 accident, the way you never lost your spirit and was up and running 🙂 in no time. You were a hero then, you are a hero now.

I recall all those talks on how you would never get me married the ‘traditional’ arranged marriage way. Maybe that is why I selected my own partner:P. But here is the true reason, I admire what you and amma share. You are such a nice husband and the way you care about her feelings till today, it feels like you guys just met. I want my marriage to be that way 40 years down the line.

I also want to say I admire you most for the way you followed your heart in your career. Not many of them can say they do what they are passionate about, but you fought your way through life and still enjoy it as much. I can never ask you to retire because that would mean you would stop doing what you love. Thanks for letting me experience the love of dogs, and they played a such an important role in my life. Though I miss them now, soon there will be no void, because your grandson has taken after you. He runs behind any dog, with no fear, and I want you here to see it and nurture it.

You were the ‘cool’ dad to all my friends. The way you could converse with them with at their level, I think you are such a youth at heart, if I must add ‘youth baba’?. I think you are such a kid at heart, so innocent that I do fear for your heart! You get hurt so easily !! 

I love you appa. Thanks for being everything to me. Leaving you after wedding was the hardest thing I have had to do all my life. I think I am still only trying to be okay about it, because I miss you a lot. I miss being a daddy’s girl, I miss fighting you for the remote and winning every time, I miss making you watch my absurd reality show and yelling at you every time you ask me what is going on,I miss fighting you to take solo pictures, I miss taking daddy and me pictures with you,I miss teasing you on your spoonerism, I miss you fawning over me and spoiling me, I miss just being around you.

Come back and spend more time with me. Today I celebrate you! Happy Father’s day to the best dad in the world!

Love,

The luckiest daughter in the world!

10 Comments

  1. Rajesh said,

    June 20, 2010 at 1:55 am

    Lovely blog. Just beautiful.

  2. Sampoorna said,

    June 20, 2010 at 6:40 am

    All I can type through the tears is ‘Ditto’. I have never been Appa’s niece and never will be… I love you Appa… And Satheeshappa as well. I must be the luckiest girl in the world who is spoilt silly by two fathers!!

    • Rangarajan said,

      June 20, 2010 at 9:19 am

      Dear Anu, Just finished reading your blog and tears are coming uncontrolabbly – I know what a great bondage we all have in our family. me and amma always thinks how lucky we are to have you and Arjun as our children and what a great family we 4 are. Now we have more joy with Ajit,Priya and the wonderful grand kids Avyukt and Teju all forming my extended family and this includes all the other children in our family with kalpana and santhosh leading the pack and goes down to Aththi. You are right Anu – The best time i have in this world is when i am with children and of course my beloved dogs. i am soo happy to know Avy is liking dogs and for sure he will be a graet humanbeing when he grows up. I too miss you Anu very much – My work keeps me here in India and i enjoy it sooo much as you rightly said. I am very moved by your blog and i know our bondage will become much more closer and stronger in the coming years. I am very proud to be father to Anu & Arjun.

    • Rangarajan said,

      June 20, 2010 at 9:27 am

      Dear kalps, Hallo my sweet daughter !!! Miss you a lot. Want to tease you with the ‘ attavans ‘ & ‘ bassats ‘ . I am sure the people reading the blog may be wondering what it is ? Of course you will be always my daughter and not my niece. Remember the ‘ coil ‘ story of me you and Anu akka. I want those happy days back thou it looks like it was only yesterady. I know you heve been awfully busy with work. Ejoy your work and at the same time look after your health. Eat at proper time. Let me see whether i can visit you in 2011.

  3. Bhargavi Venkatesh said,

    June 20, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    Very beautiful.

  4. Dhivya said,

    June 21, 2010 at 12:39 pm

    Superb Anu… miss my dad..

  5. Telugumom said,

    June 21, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    Lovely post!

  6. savitri said,

    June 22, 2010 at 5:33 am

    Dear anumma
    I miss my daddy (Annathatha) even at this age of 65 .When I read the blog I really felt why I never thought of writing to Anna about how grateful I was for the education ,freedom he has given me espcially choosing my life partner 30years ago. I also recollect Doctor thatha for the affection he has showered on me esp during all the three deliveries .They were no no they are the greatest people in my life .I am yet to meet another.I cant continue tears blurr my vision .
    Love you
    Savitriamma

  7. avymom said,

    June 22, 2010 at 9:02 am

    Thanks all of you! This was an emotional post by all standards!

  8. Divya said,

    June 22, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    Beautifully written Anu!


Leave a Reply

