Gender Stereotypes

Telugumom tagged me for this. My first TAG:) Thanks so much.

So the concept is to post 10 gender stereotypes (mainly manly/womanly things you do or like to do which are not typical to your gender. Now I would like to say that I think everyone is capable of doing everything, but certain things are better done by one person 🙂 Stereotypes are stereotypes for a reason.

So here is a list, 5 things I have committed against my gender and 5 things I wish I could….

Sins I have committed:

1) Worn my dad’s shirts to college

2) Worked with power tools to assemble a bed

3) Played four corners only with boys through many school years

4) Travelled as the only girl to Las Vegas with 10 boys (my twin brother being on of them :))

5) I do not shop for long, it takes me less than 10 minutes to pick anything, saree, salwar anything.

Now the 5 things I wish I could do;

1) Wash my hair everyday without ever worrying about styling it

2) Spend an entire day watching three different kinds of sports with maddening enthusiasm

3) Not being awaken by the slightest whimper of my child

4) Build something from scratch like a coffee table

5) Just have one wallet and call it a day and not try to utilise the gazillion handbags I have 😉

Now as I make this list I realize that I love being a woman 😉 I cannot thrive without the variety in our lives 🙂

I tag Anitha and Parisal

3 Comments

  1. telugumom said,

    July 2, 2010 at 10:38 am

    Very nice list 🙂

    I would love to do all the things on your “I wish I could do” things except for hand bags. I just love hand bags and cannot do without them.

  2. poornema ramasamy said,

    July 2, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    Nice list Anu. I really do not wish to do anything that the other gender does. I am really comfortable of being a woman. Can you believe that you could wear just one pair of shoes to everything? My God!!!!….I can’t.

  3. Arundhati said,

    July 4, 2010 at 8:30 am

    Tagged you and then saw ud done this post already!


Leave a Reply

