Relief??

Well we had the Dr.’s appoinment. It was a mixed bag. I must start off saying I love this Dr. She is sooo nice and so patient. We were there 50 minutes, and I asked questions for all that time. She answered everything patiently and my head is much clearer now…

Food allergies: Has not changed. Still the same, with some becoming worse. Milk and Egg are the worst. As of now we are still to avoid milk, egg, soy, peanut, sesame seed,chickpea and lima beans. From his old list we can try Oats :). The Dr feels that most of these kids, similar to Avy, outgrow these between the ages of 3 to 5. She said that she does think he will outgrow them. So I can only hope here. His next visit for this would be after a year.

Seasonal allergies: Bad news here. He has them pretty high for his age and she says they tend to get worse with age. So we are now having a 3 pronged approach to dealing with it. We expressed our concern over giving him so much antihistamines, but she assured us that it is okay. She changed the medication I give him at night and hopefully this would mean reduction in the 3 am waking up with itchy syndrome. He is allergic to tree and grass pollen and also ragweed. So this one, I just have to wait and watch. I am already dying for the first frost because that will end of this itchy phase!!

Best news of the day!- He is healthy. He has grown, height and weight, and has increased his curve. This was the happiest news I could get. The major factor of my worry as far as his allergies went were only two things:

1) Nothing fatal should happen due to an accidental interaction.

2) He should be healthy and not be affected due to the lack of food choices. I spent hours and hours figuring out his menu, substitutes just to make sure he is getting all that he needs.

Well, I am happy that my second worries are being put to rest. We are doing our best, we are doing something right for him to have improved. All my obsessive research has paid off finally. My biggest fear is that all these allergies would somehow affect his health, and he will not grow well. Now that I know I am on the right track I will be worrying as much. I do not feel so sad that he may not be able to eat ice cream or have neii (ghee), it is OKAY. There are a million things we do not eat and as long as my child is healthy, everything else does not matter. He still gets his overload of cookies, cake everything, tailor made just for him.

Ajit often says that he wants to bring up Avyukt fully aware of his issues but have an attitude that it is okay to be this way. We would continue to strive and provide the best support we can, morally too as he grows. So long for another year…and now I can get back to my everyday joys!

“Happy, Happy”

5 Comments

  1. Rajee Rangarajan said,

    July 9, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    Yes…GREAT RELIEF…as NVK thatha often said ‘Effort and Divinity’ go together, your efforts in battling little one’s allergies are blessed by GOD (this is Divinity)..I am enjoying the good news, continue to Pray for the seasonal allergies to be minimal and clear over a period of time..May God Bless you with strength and success.
    Love
    Amma

  2. Sampoorna said,

    July 9, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    Great news that the lil guy is doing well. 🙂 Very proud of the exemplary effort you guys are putting in.

  3. Nithya said,

    July 10, 2010 at 1:20 am

    u guys are fantastic parents!! Avy is lucky to have u guys! 🙂

  4. savitri said,

    July 12, 2010 at 9:09 am

    Anumma my grandson is healthy,chubby & bubbly .I am thankful for all the efforts you people put in .God will continue to support you in your problems. When the right time comes everything will be fine.I can see that day is not far away.We are all with you.Always problem comes with built in solutions,& we can only try the permutaion combination to identify the correct answer.God bless all of you.
    Savitri .

  5. telugumom said,

    July 12, 2010 at 11:23 am

    Great that he is doing well and you can try oats for him now. Oats are very healthy and will also open up a lot of new recipes that you can try for him. Hope the seasonal allergies get under control too.


Leave a Reply

