Hashimoto it is!

Well where do I start. the past few weeks have been foggy, well, the past few months have been too. Still debating the starting point for this post, but I know my conclusion. You know you body the best and ALWAYS, ALWAYS listen to it. I DID and I am thankful!

Last few months I have had the following feelings tiredness, weight gain, irritability, memory loss, brain fog and I as usual equated it to the lack of sleep that comes with a breastfed baby, long hours during tax season. All through Jan- April I looked ahead for the glorious summer months. But something happened that did not quite make it all that glorious and I started taking note.

All was fine till about mid- May, just about after our SFO trip. I used to be bubbly, wanted to cook new things, always upbeat. Then it all started slowing. I would come home and all I wanted to do was just sit, just sit in one place. Avy was THE only thing that could make me happy. I was sad a lot of times, and I used to tell Ajit that I am not sure why I am just sad. Anyone who knows me well, knows how much I like to smile, I laugh at the silliest of jokes, nothing anymore- everything reduced.

Then starting June I started to gain weight. I was not alarmed first, after all yummy mil cooked food for 2 months can make you do that. But I am not a big eater, and there is no way I could have gained 6 pounds in month and half. So I tried to lose it, but no avail, daily walking during lunch, strict diet, nothing helped, not even a pound budged. It just kept climbing. That followed by water retention, extreme fatigue i would sleep for 8 hours but still not be able to get out of bed. I never told anyone much, because I felt, maybe I was just being lazy. I used to be really proud of my good memory, that started going away, I would forget what I was saying, what I did 2 hours ago, I would not be able to write properly. All scary to think about now. These symptoms used to be far and few, but from June first week it became too often. But I still had Avy’s appoinments in my mind and I just could not look at me more carefully at that point.

But my heart knew something was wrong, that coupled with some other symptoms, I decided it was my thyroid. (Thank you internet). Well I am against self medication using the internet, but I am sooooo for self-education. I read up what I can. I have always had a , for lack of a better word, lumpy throat. So doctors checks my levels every year. Last year we did an ultrasound and I met with an endocrinologist, and at that time I had no symptoms, so we did not proceed with any treatment.  This time around I was convinced. So I got to meet with my primary care, who heard my symptoms and asked me “Are you sure you are not pregnant?”…I said no, I am sure it is my thyroid.

So the result cames back and yeah, ladies and gentlemen it has conked out ;). So they started me on my medication, which would be for life, and after a very rickety first few days, some days I felt great, some days had some difficult symptoms, I feel okay today. I still went ahead and saw my endocrinologist today, who BTW looks exactly like patrick Jane from the Mentalist -handsome!(At this comment, Ajit wanted me to change my Dr ).

I like this Dr. he greeted me with a handshake and a congratulations saying that my thyroid has finally given way. Well he did an ultrasound and said that it was nothing too alarming. I had Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis. You can see all about it here. So he has increased my dosage since he wants my goiter size to come down rather quickly. So let us see what that brings. I did lose 4 pounds of water weight in 5 days, so am beyond ecstatic 🙂 Will keep you gous on how I feel as we go along.

Well now we come to the conclusion of this post, I am happy that I did not ignore my symptoms, the first stage I thought it was getting worse I went immediately. Prolonged untreated condition lead to many complication relating to fertility, miscarriages etc. I would like others out there to please listen to your bodies. It is rarely wrong. If anyone out there is dealing with these symptoms -an inability to lose weight, frequent miscarriages, fatigue, memory loss, hair loss etc, get tested. Be firm with your doctor, you know your body better than them, sumptoms wise I mean. You need to be as clear in explaining your symptoms, and only then can they treat.

Use the internet as a tool it is AWESOME. I am totally against self medication and self diagnosis. I believe in being an educated patient. I like asking questions, right from my OB to Avy pediatrician have laughed at my laundry list of Q’s. But hey, I am like that!!! 🙂

9 Comments

  1. Aarthi said,

    August 3, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    I am assuming that it was this doctor who chanegd his address and failed to inform you. But I am sure your anger towards him melted the moment you saw the handsome doctor 😉 hehehehe

  2. parisal said,

    August 3, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    LOL @ the previous comment. 🙂
    Well don’t listen to Ajit – keep the Doctor! At least there is something to look forward to a Dr visit 😉

    I am glad things are becoming better. Oh man – where are the simpler days when all we had to worry about were homework and tests :-p

  3. Lakshmi said,

    August 4, 2010 at 1:04 am

    🙂 Lol at the previous comments and agree!!!

  4. swarna said,

    August 4, 2010 at 3:56 am

    u won believe me i have the same symptoms last few months n cheked my thyroid and i wish i found a doc like urs.. my fate i found an old weirdo who wudnt tel me my tsh range 😦 hope u feel fine soon

  5. avymom said,

    August 4, 2010 at 8:14 am

    Aarthi: Doesn’t it always melt at the sight of a handsome doctor :)LOL

    Divya: I want to go back to school really, except that I want avyukt too..:)

    Laks: Jit kitte sollaren, that i have overwhleming support to keep my handsome Dr.

    Swarna: Why wouldn’t he? I mean here we can get copies of the entire tests if we want and that is what I go. I do not know how easy or hard it is there but can u get a new dr?

  6. Nive said,

    August 4, 2010 at 1:24 pm

    Take care di…
    I am with others, stick to the handsome (and informative) doctor

  7. telugumom said,

    August 4, 2010 at 8:02 pm

    Glad you figured out everything…. I am with you on listening to our bodies and also about getting educated through the internet.

    And yes stick with your doctor 🙂

  8. Aarthi said,

    December 3, 2010 at 10:28 am

    Anu, I want to thank you for writing this post. After I read this post, I got suspicious and asked my doctor about it. Today I have started with my medications! Thanks for creating the awareness 🙂

    • avymom said,

      December 7, 2010 at 12:56 pm

      Aarthi am so happy to hear that you got treated! This is what I wanted to happen when I wrote this post and share my personal story. I hope you feel better soon!


Leave a Reply

