World Breastfeeding Week

Disclaimer: I want to apologize to all those moms out there who CANNOT breastfeed. This is just my attempt in convincing those mothers who can, but who don’t. I am truly sorry.

As I am surfing through various Blogs I came across many posts supporting the World Breastfeeding Awareness week.  Go here to learn more about that. I so immediately wanted to do a post. This is one of THE most special experiences for me and the closest cause to my heart. I have had so many ups and downs in this process, so many days I wanted to quit, but I am happy I struck through and here is my 2 cents on this topic.

Lets us first start with the why’s and how long. How long- it depends, some people say first six months, some people say first two years. Here is what the WHO recommends. I say at least first six months and how much ever longer you can. Lets us get to the why- well because it is the BEST. There is no close substitute at all. But here are my top 10 reasons:

1) Packed with the much needed antibodies that your child would need for life. Breastfed babies have lower instances of sickness. Their immune systems get better with breast milk.

2) Breastfed babies have higher IQ’s.

3) It is good for the mother too- helps in post-baby weight reduction, helps shrink the uterus.

4) Breastfeeding makes you toddler calm, well cared for, makes tantrums easily controllable. Research shows more long term emotional benefits.

5) One shot way of making sure your baby’s diet is balanced- Breast milk has the exact right combination of protein, carbs and fat your baby needs. Breast milk changes consistency based on what your baby needs.

6) For us lazy ones- convenience. It is the ultimate best thing. I mean no packing separate bottles, water etc. Easiest way to control a crying, uncontrollable baby.

7) Sometimes the only thing the child can tolerate while sick. Gives the child the best boost he/she would need to keep away the infections.

8) The best thing I like about breast feeding is that it is not all or nothing. Do as much as you can. Even one or two feeds a day would give your child the benefit. I am a full time working mom, and I can tell you that one or two times a day is hardly difficult.

9) More sleep for the mom and the dad too. The biggest battle after childbirth is sleep deprivation for the entire family. Breast milk is like a natural tranquilizer both for the mom and the baby. Easier bed times, better routines. Even dad gets to reap the benefits of a well rested mom and child.

10) Finally, the bonding experience. I cannot say enough on how darn special it is to share those precious few moments with just you and your child and nothing else around. I remember fondly those early am feeds when we can hear the silence and I can see the smile on Avy’s face and the sigh of satisfaction that comes from him is priceless.

I know that not all working moms can pump at work and make sure they provide ONLY breast milk. I am not an advocate for moms to quit working and be home so that they can feed their kids. I did not do that and I will not suggest that too. I was lucky to have an employer who understood. With the new laws in the US, large companies would soon HAVE to give a designated space and time for moms to pump. I suggest that all moms try. It is HARD. Believe me I did for a year, but it is worth it.

And if you cannot pump at work, it is okay, try and make up for those feeds at home. As I said it is not all or nothing. Every little drop counts. These two years I have had moments where I have felt that my whole life has been taken over by that little monster in diapers, and then I realize that for that cute little monster I am the world, all he needs is from me, and I am THE only one who can give him, the BEST thing he need.

As I am writing this, we are in the final stages of weaning with no crying J. I miss him already. He misses me. He hugs me fondly and we talk about it. Soon he will forget it all.

But I won’t, it will be etched in my memory forever.

1 Comment

  1. telugumom said,

    August 8, 2010 at 11:49 pm

    Very nice post. I totally agree with you on all the points. Breastmilk is the best thing we can give our kids.


Leave a Reply

