The Shy little Giraffe!

Hey shy little Giraffe,

I wanted to write this letter to let you know on what a wonderful time you had on October 31st – Halloween. Technically your third one, but the first one where you knew what was happening. For the first one you were all but 1.5 months and we dressed you up as a puppy dog. The second one, you were sick with ear infection, but still we dressed you up as a monkey and drove you bike all around the house. This year, your third, you were a Giraffe. Do you notice a theme here? Well animals are what lights you up the most, followed by Elmo!!!

You had two parties at your daycare, the Thursday and Friday before, you guys baked cookies, made milkshakes, picked pumpkins and got CANDY!!! So the candy talk was prevalent in the house. Your dad when to the store and searched for candies that you could have, even though we weren’t sure about some of the food coloring we were willing to take the chance.

A little flashback, the first time I showed you your costume, a month ago maybe, you got so excited. But when I said we need to go to other people’s house for trick or treating you started crying and said “No, Avy go”. So, when Oct 31 came, I was not sure how you would be. Yet, you practised all day saying ” Trick or treat, Happy Halloween”.

So we got you dressed about 5.15 pm, and you were so enthusiastic about getting dressed, trying to put on the things yourself. You had a blue basket, and we ventured out. I took you first. On the way you stopped to pluck a flower for mommy, so that made my day!

We went to the first house and you held my hands tight, and there was this sweet little old lady who came up to you and offered the bowl of candy. I asked you to tell trick or treat, and you whispered “trick or treat” in the lowest decibel possible. She laughed and handed the bowl, and you took one piece of candy, just one!!!!! She went all aww and asked you to take some more, you waited for my approval, and then you picked just one more. Where did you learn such manners? Or are you just too small to grab more 🙂

Then we proceeded on, with you barely whispering in every house, trick or treat and happy Halloween, till we reached this one house where there was an older couple. You did your part, said the things, and yet that old man was talking to me without handing you candy, and you were getting impatient. In your loudest voice so far you asked him “Avy wants candy”!

That is the loudest I heard your voice that day 🙂 We went down two streets then your dad took over for the last one. You trick or treated for about 2 hours, and came home with a bowl full of candies. Yet, you waited patiently for all the 2 hours not even having a single piece of candy, for the single reason, I asked you to. I told you , you can have all the candy once we are done. I love you for that. You trust us. We picked out the ones you can have, and you had a blast.

After you reached home, and changed, you were still eager to hand out candies to the other kids who came. Once it was all done, you, your dad and me sat on our favorite couch and ate candy after candy!! My best memory from that day!

I was scared, I was not sure if you would react, I had Benadryl handy, in case it would cause stomach ache or a rash, but those moments of pure joy you had eating those candies was worth everything!

You are starting to understand now that you have allergies, you understood why you could not have certain kind of candy, as you were allergic. You ran about the house screaming, allergies, allergies, made me a little sad! Oh baby!

You were the shyest little giraffe ever, but you still did your part, you mustered all the courage in your little soul to talk to strangers, which is your biggest fear, and I love you for that baby.

My soul, my love, my everything!

Amma

In order, his three Haloween appearances so far.

5 Comments

  1. November 3, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    Awwwwwwwwwww
    Plucked a flower for mum, whispered to strangers, raised voice when necessary and picked one candy shyly….
    Can it get any cuter? I am all smiles now 😀

  2. avymom said,

    November 3, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    Thanks 🙂 your comment has me in all smiles!

  3. Titaxy said,

    November 3, 2010 at 5:27 pm

    Awww very very cute!

  4. meena said,

    November 4, 2010 at 10:52 pm

    Very cute little giraffee. Give him a tight hug on my behalf. Meena.

  5. Telugumom said,

    November 17, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    He looks very cute 🙂


Leave a Reply

