Had to post…

I know I am on a hiatus and all, but these two conversations yesterday, one that weighs down heavily and one that lightens the heart show how much a two year old’s words can change your mood…one conversation was with me and one with his Lovely Paati…

So here is the first one…

As I was eating dinner last night, he came running like he always does and climbed up in the chair next to me..

Avy: Amma what are you eating?

Me: I am eating yogurt and oorugai (pickle)

Avy: Can I eat pickle?

Me: No, because it is hot, and you can eat it when you become a big boy.

Avy: Can I eat yogurt when I am big boy?

Me: Yeah, I think so

Avy: Will it still be yummy then?

All I could do was hug the child….when he talks like this it makes me wonder what kind of impressions he forms on those food that he can’t have and in his little head and beleives that everything will be okay when he grows up and I sure hope it does…..

So much for a heavy heart and let’s make it light now. My mom came back form India to help us during this whole health crisis I am dealing with. That means Avy stays home two days a week from Daycare. Now normally he and my mom fight and he asks her to go back to Chicago, not India, but Chicago to her other peran, but always qualifies it by saying “You can go after amma and appa come back from office”. So the following conversation was refreshing…LOL

Avy: Paati, don’t go back to India

Paati: Yen da kanna (Why sweetheart?)? I will go in a little while, but you have appa and amma.

Avy: Who will give me lollipop if you go to India? (Should mention that he was eating a lollipop, which was his dessert after lunch)

Paati: Amma and Appa wil give you lollipop. They will give you everything you want.

Avy: They will give me everything Paati, but not Lollipop!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Oh the grandparents!!!!

 

 

5 Comments

  1. Titaxy said,

    June 10, 2011 at 9:52 am

    lovely lollipop story. i am sure that melted paati’s heart 🙂

  2. Comfy said,

    June 10, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    aww..these do pull at the heart string. Much love to Any. 🙂

  3. June 16, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    How sweet is the lollipop story and reading the first one itself was so tough for me to handle. You are strong mom ..Hugs to Avy!!

  4. whinymom said,

    June 17, 2011 at 5:29 am

    Don’t we all believe everything would solve miraculously with time? He’s doing perfect, Don’t worry…

  5. Manasa said,

    June 20, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    Hi! I’m from chennai….and verry curious to know if you are by any chance lalitha ma’am’s daughter/dil?????????


Leave a Reply

